February 23, 2019

Early Childhood Education Program

The Early Childhood Program (ECP) at the Hartford School District provides Early Childhood special education services to resident students between the ages of 3-5.

Referral process: Referrals can come from a number of sources - Parents, child care centers, and PreK teachers, or agencies within the community, for example DCF or The Haven. Students also enter our program via Children’s Integrated Services - Early Intervention (CIS-EI) at The Family Place in Norwich, VT. CIS-EI provides services to eligible children between the ages of birth - 3.

Eligibility for Services: Eligibility for special education services is determined through an evaluation process. The ECP team generally looks at five domains of development - cognitive, social and emotional, speech and language, motor (fine, gross, and perceptual), and adaptive. A child is found eligible when there is a 40% or greater delay in one area of development or a 25% delay in two or more areas. If a child is found eligible, the team develops an Individual Education Plan (IEP) with the family. In writing the IEP, specific services are addressed.

Types of services: ECP provides special education, speech and language, occupational therapy, and physical therapy. Services for our children are based on eligibility and need. The amount and type of services provided is individually determined. We also have a Title One teacher who provides services (typically once a week) to students in our community settings or district PreK who might be in need of support, but are not eligible for special education services.

Where services are provided: HSD PreK programs at the elementary schools, community child care centers, at home child care settings, or at the child’s home. Our intent is to provide services at a place that meets the needs of the child and their family. We operate on the school calendar.

Name Role E-mail
Laurie Hausler Early Childhood Program Coordinator hauslerl@hartfordschools.net
Amy Fahey Special Educator faheya@hartfordschools.net
Laura Berman Special Educator bermanl@hartfordschools.net
Ruth Dougher Speech-Language Pathologist dougherr@hartfordschools.net
Nicole Johnson Speech-Language Pathologist johnsonn@hartfordschools.net
Karen Manning Speech-Language Pathologist manningk@hartfordschools.net
Aimee Marshall Occupational Therapist marshalla@hartfordschools.net
Beth Pastor Physical Therapist pastorb@hartfordschools.net

 

Contact Us


If you have any questions or know of any preschool children who have or may have special needs, please contact us:

Hartford District

Early Childhood Education Program
64 Highland Avenue
White River Junction, Vt. 05001
802-295-8609